contact


S4 – The Safe Operation of High Voltage Power Systems (Full High Voltage Authorisation)

Outline Content

  • Electrical hazards and precautions
  • Electricity at work regulations
  • Understanding the arc blast hazard
  • Causes of electrical accidents
  • Operational and safety features of switchgear
  • Substations and safety requirements
  • Secondary hazards and emergency conditions
  • High voltage safety rules
  • Key safes and multihasp systems
  • Test equipment for proving dead
  • Operational procedures
  • Application of electrical protection on industrial power systems
  • Fault exercises
  • Practical exercises

Duration

5 days

Course Overview

This course provides an understanding of industrial high and low voltage power systems including safe operation on a wide range of power equipment. It enables candidates to perform advanced HV switching operations on industrial HV networks up to and including 15kV. This prepares them for HV authorisation in accordance with their company’s safety rules/regulations. It includes both classroom theory and practical exercises.

Upon completion, candidates will be assessed to a competency level suitable for switching and issuing documents for work on all types of circuit.

Who should attend?

Electrical personnel with a good foundation level of electrical knowledge who are required to carry out advanced HV switching operations and safety document issuing responsibilities up to and including 15kV. The course is aimed at personnel who are to be authorised to multiple grades of duty which company rules may acknowledge as a senior authorised person (SAP). Candidates may find it beneficial to attend our S9 course as a precursor to this course.

Certification

Candidates who successfully complete the course and both theoretical and practical assessments will receive a Faraday Centre competence certificate and a certificate of verified achievement issued by EAL. Candidates who fail or do not wish to undertake the competence assessment will receive a Faraday Centre attendance certificate.

Price

Course: £1,105.00 + VAT (where applicable) per person.

2021 Course: £1,160.00 + VAT (where applicable) per person for the 15KV Dates

2021 33KV dates 2021 Price is £1700 per person including Exam Fee, + VAT
Assessment: £85.00 + VAT (where applicable) per person.

Note: course assessment is optional.

Training Package

This course is available as a package with the following courses; S9 – Introduction to the Safe Operation of Low/High Voltage Switchgear (TP1 Package)

Course Dates

September 2020
Monday 21 – Friday 25
SPACES AVAILABLE

October 2020
Monday 12 – Friday 16
FULLY BOOKED

Monday 26 – Friday 30
SPACES AVAILABLE

November 2020
Monday 09 – Friday 13
SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 23 – Friday 27
SPACES AVAILABLE

December 2020
Monday 07 – Friday 11
SPACES AVAILABLE

2021 DATES NOW AVAILABLE TO BOOK

Monday 04 – Friday 08 January 2021 up to 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 25 – Friday 29 January 2021 up to 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 8 – Friday 12 February 2021 up to 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 22 – Friday 26 February 2021 up to 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 8 – Friday 12 March 2021 up to 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 12 – Friday 16 April 2021 UP TO 15kv – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 26 – Friday 30 April 2021 UP TO 33kv – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 10 – Friday 14 May 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 17 – Friday 21 May 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 24 – Friday 28 May 2021 up to 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 14 – Friday 18 June 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 28 June to Friday 2 July 2021 UP TO 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 12 – Friday 16 July 2021 UP TO 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 26 – Friday 30 July 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 2 – Friday 6 August 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 16 – Friday 20 August 2021 UP TO 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 6 – Friday 10 September 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 20 – Friday 24 September 2021 UP TO 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 4 – Friday 8 October 2021 UP TO 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 18 – Friday 22 October 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 1 – Friday 5 November 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 15 – Friday 19 November 2021 UP TO 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 6 – Friday 10 December 2021 UP TO 15KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Monday 20 – Friday 24 December 2021 UP TO 33KV – SPACES AVAILABLE

Call us now on 01642 467236 to make your booking.